History

In the late 1950s, Prof. Dr. med. Carl Erich Alken had the idea to make it easier to perform catheterisation. His approach involved no longer wetting urological instruments, such as catheters and cystoscopes, with a viscous, "lubricating" substance, but rather to fill the urethra itself with a lubricant. Instillation of the lubricant was intended to expand the folds of the star-shaped urethra and keep them open during the procedure, enabling urological instruments to be inserted into the urethra with almost no resistance. This was simultaneously intended to considerably reduce the risk of injury.

Prof. Alken perfected his product idea by deciding to include a combination of active substances with disinfecting and local anaesthetic properties in the lubricant. This was intended to considerably reduce the occurrence of urinary tract infections and the spread of bacteria and decrease the risk of injury because the patient would experience no pain during the procedure and remain relaxed.

In order to implement his idea, Prof. Alken needed a pharmaceutical partner. In 1964, he founded FARCO-PHARMA GmbH in the Hessian city of Giessen. Small-scale, initial production of the lubricant with the name Instillagel® that was supplied with an application syringe began at the pharmacy of Mr. Reinhard, the company co-founder.

Demand for Instillagel® rose very rapidly within Germany and several customers from abroad also showed interest in the lubricant. As a result, initial shipments of the lubricant to Austria began as early as 1970. Company owners Prof. Alken and Mr. Reinhard hadn't expected such a huge demand. Due to their limited production facilities, the two found themselves unable to ensure the supply of Instillagel® at the required volumes. As a result, they decided to sell the company.

In 1971, FARCO-PHARMA GmbH moved its headquarters to Cologne, Germany. The pharmaceutical formula for Instillagel® was reengineered, systematic sterile production began, and the modified lubricant was launched domestically.

With the objective of making this urological milestone accessible to the international market as well, sales of Instillagel® were expanded to several European countries, including Switzerland, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the UK.

In addition to the Instillagel® medicinal product, FARCO-PHARMA continued to expand its product portfolio over time. In 1978, as second lubricant was launched called Endosgel®, a sterile and disinfecting, cellulose-based lubricant.

The exportation of FARCO-PHARMA products also expanded and in 1990 Hong Kong became the first overseas market for Instillagel®. Over the ensuing years, the number of export markets continued to grow and FARCO-PHARMA products are now sold in many countries, including Ireland, Sweden, Italy, France, Portugal, United Arab Emirates and Indonesia.

In 2001, a third lubricant was launched named Lubricano®. As a lubricant with no active ingredient, Lubricano® is exceptionally well tolerated and ideally suited for application in patients with allergies and intolerances to certain active substances.

In 2001, in addition to the lubricants, FARCO-PHARMA also launched its first sterile solution for catheter inflation named Farco-fill® Aqua-Glycerol for indwelling catheters.

FARCO-PHARMA exports continued to grow and Canada became the first market for FARCO-PHARMA products in North America in 2006. Egypt, the first market in Africa, followed three years later and in 2011 Australia, a whole other continent, became the next market for FARCO-PHARMA products.

2012 FARCO-PHARMA launched the FARCO penile clamp, the first tool for use with urological lubricants. It is a practical and hygienic single-use product that is attached to the coronal sulcus of the penis following instillation of a lubricant that contains an active substance (e.g. Instillagel® or Endosgel®). The objective here is to use the FARCO penile clamp to prevent the lubricant from running out of the penis for the duration of the exposure time to the local anaesthetic and/or disinfecting additives and to provide optimal preparation for subsequent treatment.

Since 2012, FARCO-PHARMA has been selling its products in Columbia, the first South American market for the company's products.

In addition to lubricants, the German specialist and market leader for urological lubricants has since launched three sterile solutions for catheter inflation as medical devices for filling balloon catheters. The sterile solutions for catheter inflation Aquatouch® (launched in 2015) and the Farco-fill® Aqua-Glycerol launched in 2001 are each purified water-based solution for indwelling catheters.

Farco-fill® Protect, an innovative sterile solution for reducing encrustrations, was launched in 2013. When used daily, Farco-fill® Protect can protect the patient against complications that occur when the indwelling catheter is removed and replaced.

Another milestone in FARCO-PHARMA's history was achieved in 2014 with the successful approval of the GLYDO® catheter lubricant for the U.S. market by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Today, FARCO-PHARMA products are sold on every continent and the company has access to a global network of 44 sales partners.

  • FARCO-PHARMA founded by Prof. Dr. med. Carl Erich Alken in Giessen, Germany

  • Instillagel® is launched

  • Austria becomes the first export market for Instillagel®

  • Company headquarters moves to Cologne, Germany

  • Endosgel® is launched

  • Hong Kong becomes the first overseas export market

  • Lubricano® is launched

  • Farco-fill® Aqua-Glycerol is launched

  • Canada becomes the first market for FARCO-PHARMA products in North America

  • Egypt becomes the first market for FARCO-PHARMA products in Africa

  • Australia and New Zealand become markets for FARCO-PHARMA products

  • The FARCO penile clamp is launched

  • Columbia becomes the first market for FARCO-PHARMA products in South America

    FARCO-PHARMA products now sold on every continent

  • Farco-fill® Protect is launched

  • FDA approval of the GLYDO® sterile lubricant in the U.S.

  • Aquatouch® is launched

Geschichte

Prof. Dr. med. Carl Erich Alken hatte Ende der 1950er Jahre die Idee, die Katheterisierung zu erleichtern. Sein Ansatz war es, nicht mehr die urologischen Instrumente wie Katheter und Zystoskope mit einer viskösen "gleitfähigen" Substanz zu benetzen, sondern die Harnröhre selbst mit einem Gleitgel zu befüllen. Durch das Instillieren des Gleitgels soll die sternförmig zusammengefaltete Harnröhre aufgeweitet und für den Eingriff offengehalten werden, sodass die urologischen Instrumente sich fast widerstandslos durch die Harnröhre einführen lassen. Gleichzeitig soll dadurch das Verletzungsrisiko erheblich gemindert werden.
Prof. Alken perfektionierte seine Produktidee, indem er sich dazu entschied, dem Gleitgel eine desinfizierende und lokalanästhisierende Wirkstoffkombination beizufügen. Das Auftreten von Harnwegsinfektionen sowie die Verbreitung von Keimen sollen somit deutlich reduziert und das Verletzungsrisiko vermindert werden, da der Patient den Eingriff schmerzfrei erlebt und sich weniger verkrampft.

Zur Realisierung seiner Idee brauchte Prof. Alken einen pharmazeutischen Partner. Im Jahre 1964 gründete er im hessischen Gießen die FARCO-PHARMA GmbH. Die Produktion des Gleitgels mit dem Namen Instillagel®, das in der Applikationsform einer Spritze angeboten wird, wurde zunächst im kleinen Rahmen in der Apotheke des Mitbegründers und Apothekers Reinhard vorgenommen.

Die Nachfrage nach Instillagel® stieg in Deutschland sehr schnell an und auch erste Kunden aus dem Ausland zeigten Interesse an dem Gleitgel. So wurden bereits 1970 die ersten Präparate des Gleitgels nach Österreich geliefert. Mit einer solch großen Nachfrage hatten die Inhaber Prof. Alken und Reinhard nicht gerechnet. Aufgrund der beschränkten räumlichen Produktionsmöglichkeiten sahen sich beide außerstande, die Versorgung mit Instillagel® in den benötigten Mengen zu gewährleisten. Daher entschieden sie sich die Firma zu verkaufen.

1971 wurde der Firmensitz der FARCO-PHARMA GmbH nach Köln verlegt. Die Galenik von Instillagel® wurde überarbeitet, die planmäßige Sterilproduktion begann und es folgte die nationale Einführung des angepassten Gleitgels.

Mit dem Ziel, den geschaffenen Meilenstein in der Urologie auch dem internationalen Markt zugänglich zu machen, weitete man den Vertrieb von Instillagel® auf die europäischen Länder Schweiz, Niederlande, Belgien, Luxemburg und England aus.
Neben dem Arzneimittel Instillagel® erweiterte FARCO-PHARMA sein Produkt-Portfolio im Laufe der Zeit kontinuierlich. 1978 folgte die Einführung eines zweiten Gleitgels, Endosgel®, einem sterilen und desinfizierenden Gleitgel auf Cellulose-Basis.

Auch der Export von FARCO-PHARMA Produkten wurde ausgeweitet und 1990 mit Hongkong das erste Exportland in Übersee mit Instillagel® beliefert. In den folgenden Jahren stieg die Zahl der Export-Länder kontinuierlich und FARCO-PHARMA Produkte werden seither in Ländern wie unter anderem Irland, Schweden, Italien, Frankreich, Portugal, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, Indonesien u. v. m. vertrieben.

Mit Lubricano® folgte im Jahr 2001 die Einführung eines dritten Gleitgels. Lubricano® zeichnet sich als wirkstofffreies Gleitgel aus, das eine besonders gute Verträglichkeit aufweist und sich ideal zur Anwendung bei Patienten mit Unverträglichkeiten gegen bestimmte Wirkstoffe und bei Allergikern eignet.

Neben den Gleitgelen führte FARCO-PHARMA 2001 erstmals mit Farco-fill® Aqua-Glycerol eine Blockerlösung zum Blocken von Dauerkathetern im Markt ein.

Der Export von FARCO-PHARMA schreitete weiter kontinuierlich voran und Kanada war im Jahr 2006 das erste nordamerikanische Land, das mit FARCO-PHARMA Produkten beliefert wurde. Drei Jahre später folgte Ägypten als erstes afrikanisches Land und mit Australien 2011 ein weiterer Kontinent.

2012 führte FARCO-PHARMA mit der FARCO-Penisklemme das erste Hilfsmittel für die Anwendung von urologischen Gleitgelen ein. Sie ist ein praktischer und hygienischer Einwegartikel, der nach der Instillation eines wirkstoffhaltigen Gleitmittels (z. B. Instillagel® oder Endosgel®) im Bereich des Sulcus coronarius angebracht wird. Ziel ist es, mittels der FARCO-Penisklemme, das Herauslaufen des Gleitgels für die Dauer der Einwirkzeit der lokalanästhesierenden und/oder desinfizierenden Zusätze zu verhindern und eine optimale Vorbereitung für die nachfolgende Behandlung zu unterstützen.

Seit 2012 vertreibt FARCO-PHARMA in Kolumbien, dem ersten südamerikanischen Land in der Firmengeschichte, seine Produkte.

Neben den Gleitgelen bietet der deutsche Spezialist und Marktführer für urologische Gleitgele zwei Blockerlösungen zum Befüllen von Ballonkathetern als Medizinprodukte an. Bei der 2015 eingeführten Blockerlösung Aquatouch® sowie der bereits 2001 eingeführten Blockerlösung Farco-fill® Aqua-Glycerol handelt es sich jeweils um eine Blockerlösung bestehend aus gereinigtem Wasser zum Blocken von Dauerkathetern.
2013 erfolgte die Einführung von Farco-fill® Protect.

Ein weiterer Meilenstein in der Unternehmensgeschichte gelang FARCO-PHARMA im Jahr 2014 mit der erfolgreichen Zulassung des Kathetergleitgels GLYDO® durch die US-amerikanische Aufsichtsbehörde für Lebensmittel- und Arzneimittelsicherheit (FDA) für den US-Markt.

Heute werden die Produkte von FARCO-PHARMA auf allen Kontinenten vertrieben und das Unternehmen kann auf ein weltweites Netzwerk mit 44 Vertriebspartnern zugreifen.

  • Gründung von FARCO-PHARMA durch Prof. Dr. med. Carl Erich Alken in Gießen

  • Einführung von Instillagel®

  • Österreich ist erstes Exportland für Instillagel®

  • Verlegung des Firmensitzes nach Köln

  • Einführung von Endosgel®

  • Hongkong ist erstes Exportland in Übersee

  • Einführung von Lubricano®

  • Einführung von Farco-fill® Aqua-Glycerol

  • Kanada wird als erstes nordamerikanisches Land mit FARCO-PHARMA Produkten beliefert

  • Ägypten wird als erstes afrikanisches Land mit FARCO-PHARMA Produkten beliefert

  • Australien und Neuseeland werden mit FARCO-PHARMA Produkten beliefert

  • Einführung der FARCO-Penisklemme

  • Kolumbien wird als erstes südamerikanisches Land mit FARCO-PHARMA Produkten beliefert

    FARCO-PHARMA Produkte werden ab jetzt auf allen Kontinenten vertrieben

  • Einführung von Farco-fill® Protect

  • FDA-Zulassung für das sterile Gleitgel GLYDO® in den USA

  • Einführung von Aquatouch®

  • Einführung von Instillamed®